top of page
  • Writer's pictureJacob

Never Give Up

22/04/2019


Being back at home was so much nicer than being stuck in Hospital. A lot of recovery is mental and having a positive outlook is so important. Being surrounded by severely poorly people in Hospital was not helping, as I am sure you can imagine!

The first few weeks at home were really tough, getting up and out of bed and down the stairs in a morning absolutely tired me out! Gradually, week by week, I started to regain my strength. The district nursing team were visiting me daily to redress my dressings and provide constant answers to my questions. They are absolutely fantastic!

My Mum and Dad took me round the village on my good days in the wheelchair to get some fresh air as I'm sure you can imagine, you get very bored looking at the same 4 walls everyday. I was taking it steady as I was at a high risk of developing a hernia as my abdominal wall and muscles had been cut through, that was the last thing I want at this point. Everyday has its challenge but I was noticing a difference as the weeks pasted by. It must have been around 6 weeks into recovery and literally I woke up one morning and felt the best I had since surgery, I didn't need to be assisted out of bed (I was still being dressed), it was great! However, I really did overdo it that day as I slept for 13 hours and was very...very weak again. Lesson learnt, take it easy! I was prior to this, but I really knew my limit. Walking was gradually getting easier with time and I was slowly getting my independence back. I am still a long way from full recovery.


Out and about in the village in the wheelchair

115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page